Really quite extraordinary

by Alex Hern

I’ve listened to, and thoroughly enjoyed, the first two episodes of Alternate Cover’s new podcast, the Graphic Novel Book Club, and was even (as far as I can tell) the only unsolicited contributor to episode two. Which I guess is cool? Or marks me out as one of the try-hard kids in the blogging club, I don’t know.

Anyway, they’ve put out their request for responses to their third selected book, League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 1969, by Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neill. In a stroke of good fortune (or a hallmark of my impeccable taste?) this makes it three-for-three that they’ve picked a book I’ve already read, so I can jump right in to dispensing baseless opinion. Joy!

James and Seb use a format where they pre-select five questions for discussion, but welcome further comment, and so I’ll be hewing to that myself over the rest of the week. Yes, week. I want to do this properly, dammit, and that either means seven seperate posts, or a 2500 word monster. And no-one likes monsters.

(And if you want more politics and fewer comics, I remind you again that you’ll be able to read my fuzz over at Left Foot Forward, full-time from tomorrow.)

