Smashing.

by Alex Hern

I’m back. Did you miss me?
Probably not. In fact, if you did, I’d be a little worried. All that responsibility.
But enough about me. Music!
Part of the reason why I was gone was that, for various reasons, I had a rather digital-free lifestyle for a couple of weeks. Forced to live off CDs and a discman, I’ve gone a bit retro (Incidentally, can anyone tell me if discmen are still getting better? I’d imagine that if someone really put their mind to it, we could get one not much bigger than a CD. I’d buy it).
One disc that was rarely out of rotation was Smashing Pumpkins’ Siamese Dream. This was their breakthrough album, for me as well as the rest of the world, and with the single Today, they reached awesome new levels of greatness, firmly planting “alternative” rock in the canon of genres. That and the video was awesome. He goes mental with an ice-cream truck!
I have to admit, the people that first brought the band to my attention weren’t entirely, well, real. Beavis and Butthead, thank you. If it weren’t for your incessant snickering, I might have missed out on something fantastic.

Smashing Pumpkins – Today [MP3 Removed]
Smashing Pumpkins – Siamese Dream [Buy]

Image by willsfca

