Life on Mars

by Alex Hern

My name is Sam Tyler. I got hit by a car, and woke up in 1973. Am I mad, in a coma, or back in time? All I know is, it feels like I’ve landed on another planet.

So Life on Mars has finished then, for good, with more false endings than Return of the King. Is he in a coma? Or in 1973? I still don’t really know, but it doesn’t matter anymore.
For those of you who don’t know what I’m on about, you really should try to find out. You’ve just missed two series of one of the best dramas in a long time. Cross The Sweeney with The Prisoner, and you get this. Majestic.
But am I the only person in the world not enamoured with Gene Hunt? Of course, I’ll watch Ashes to Ashes (the forthcoming 80s-spinoff starring him), but in my eyes Sam Tyler was always the best character. Gene just had some good one liners.
Anyway, as I was watching the last episode, I overheard this little gem come on. Recorded by Israel Kamakawiwoole, (literally) a behemoth Hawaiian star, it is Somewhere Over the Rainbow. Enjoy.
Israel Kamakawiwoole – Over the Rainbow [MP3]
David Bowie – Life on Mars [AAC]

